And First Place Goes to…

Pinetree Secondary!

Pinetree Secondary Team with Judges, Terry Woo, Diane Chung, and Donald Hincks

The fourth annual CMA High School Scholarship Competition took place on March 27th, 2010 at SFU Harbour Centre.  Students were invited to put their management leadership skills to the test by analyzing the business case problem of YouTube offering paid video service and strategically advising the company’s fictional senior management on a recommended solution.

“We are very proud to be able to offer High School students throughout BC the opportunity to participate in a business case competition, and help these young leaders develop their strategic leadership skills early in their careers” says Colin Bennett, CMA, FCMA – President & CEO of CMA British Columbia.

Students listening to Keynote Speaker, Laurie Sheehan, CMA

There was a representation by high schools across the province with over 100 teams from 24 high schools.  This year’s top eight teams included:  Britannia Secondary, Burnaby North Secondary, Crofton House, Elgin Park Secondary, Killarney Secondary, Pinetree Secondary, Seaquam Secondary and Sentinel Secondary.

“This is my fourth year as a judge for this event.  I continue to be impressed with the quality of the presentation these students deliver,” says Donald Hincks, CMA, FCMA.  “They produce wonderful slide shows, and demonstrate excellent presentation skills in delivering their recommendations.  It seems clear that they are well coached and supported.  They can all be proud of their achievement as participants in this competition.”

Pinetree Secondary and Elgin Park Secondary with Colin Bennett, CMA, FCMA, President and CEO of CMA BC

Congratulations to Veronica Cho, Stephanie Jang, and Gordon Zhang of Pinetree Secondary who won the competition and shared a $2000 team scholarship!  Second place was awarded to Paige Bouwman, Trevor Harris and Michael Stuart from Elgin Park Secondary.

A huge thank you to our following judges for their hard work and support in judging this year’s competition:

Don Hincks, CMA, FCMA
Terry Woo, CMA,
And Diane Chung, CMA.

Check out some of the competition pictures on Facebook and Flickr.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>